Aurora Scholars Announced

by: Bella Cali ’21

Since 2009, the city of Aurora, Colorado has chosen one student from each grade of every school in the entire district to attend a special city ceremony with the mayor and city council.


Students in grades 1-12 are selected by their teachers and principal to receive this amazing honor by being a top student academically and for being an overall contributing member of the school community.


Here at Regis Jesuit, we are lucky to have eight students who have received this award. Emma Ackerman ‘21, Morgan Hicks ’20, Jenna Jordan ’19, and  Nai Cardenas Duran ‘18, have all been chosen for the scholarship from the Regis Jesuit Girls Division and D’Shawn Burkes ‘21, Vincent Mata ‘20, Matthew Bornhorst ‘19, and Ethan Roderick ‘18, have been chosen from the Regis Jesuit Boys Division.


The Aurora Scholars all attended a ceremony on April 24, 2018, to receive their awards, presented by the mayor and city council.



“I feel so honored that I was chosen by the wonderful staff and administration here at Regis Jesuit to receive this award. I love the Regis Jesuit Community and am so flattered that they would choose me for this amazing opportunity,” comments Emma Ackerman ‘21.



Leave a Reply